Adianto Trihatmojo
1 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Very interesting perspective! I think this makes sense if we see it horizontally in older voters. However, the exit poll analysis by Kompas shows that the first/second time voters tend to vote for Prabowo and the older voters are less likely to vote for Prabowo. Personally, I think first time voters are too young to consider this status quo as a 'ritual' yet, and most of them are just unaware.

To add my own hypothesis, I think most Indonesians prioritizes efficiency over accuracy when making a decision, so they tend to use fast and frugal decision making in the process. That's why they only use one criterion as the reason to choose a candidate, like 'gemoy', 'Jokowi's child', 'stability', 'social aid will continue if I vote for him', and so on.

Prabowo's team truly make it simple for grassroots, but other candidates don't have something resonating like that except for 'change' from Anies where people need to put extra mental resource to truly understand.

--

--

Adianto Trihatmojo

I improve business with data and machine learning. An adventurer and a sucker for words.